Introduction to HOT2000 Energy Modelling

$545.00

OR
4 Interest-Free payments of only $136.25

Overview

This course combines our on-demand course material, self-directed study and practice files, and weekly 90 minute virtual instructor-led sessions over a 6 week period.

The course covers all the competency guidelines for HOT2000 in the NRCan Energy Advisor (HOUSE) Exam.

To give you the best virtual classroom experience, we are accepting only 5 to 12 people for each cohort.

There are two sessions on different weekday nights to choose from—register today!


Agenda

  • Week 1: Introduction
  • Week 2: Modelling the Above Grade Envelope
  • Week 3: Modelling Foundations
  • Week 4: Using Code Editors
  • Week 6: Review

Note: This course doesn't go into data collection, code compliance, what upgrade recommendations to make (for new or existing houses), or how to carry out reporting - those are topics for future courses.

This course Includes

  • 6 x 90 minute virtual classroom sessions
  • BHE study guide
  • Practice house files
  • Access to on-demand course material
  • BHE Resource Site
  • Technical Support and access to BHE Program Coordinator

Download course outline


Important Details

  • Registration ends the day before the course starts

  • Courses may be available on different weeknights, make sure you have chosen the one that suits your schedule.

  • This course takes 24-40 hours to complete (including class time, review and tests)

  • This course includes 6 x 90 minute virtual instructor-led training sessions (1 per week for 6 weeks)

  • There is a Final test (practice for Energy Advisor (House) Exam) consisting of 100 questions

  • A grade of at least 70% is required to pass the Final Test

  • Like all BHE courses, you have access for 12 months

  • The course is best viewed on a laptop or desktop. It works on tablets, but it’s really hard to see all the detail on a phone!

  • Sales within Canada are subject to GST/HST.

  • Download course outline


Are you an organization buying multiple seats for this course?

Contact us for group options or a private course for your team

Schedule

October Session – Monday Evenings

Week 1: October 17th, 2022
Week 2: October 24th, 2022
Week 3: November 2nd (on Wednesday instead!)
Week 4: November 7th, 2022
Week 5: November 14th, 2022
Week 6: November 21st, 2022

Start Time:
7pm AT / 6pm ET / 5pm CT / 4pm MT / 3pm PT

 

Our Policies

Disclaimer, Waiver & Indemnification

This Energy Advisor Foundation Exam Preparation package is not a program of study. It is simply one of the training and development activities you may engage in to pass any exams to become an Energy Advisor.

Blue House Energy (BHE) does not make any representations or warranties, or provide any guarantees, regarding your likelihood of passing any exams as an Energy Advisor following your completion of the Energy Advisor Foundation Exam Preparation package.

View our refund policy here.

Skill Level:
Intermediate

Schedule:
6 Weeks

Start Date:
October 17th, 2022

Effort:
24-40 Hours

Are you an organization buying multiple seats for this course?

Contact us for group options or a private course for your team

Instructor: Toby Smith

Toby Smith has been working in the energy efficiency sector since 2002, including as an Energy Advisor. He has a passion for top tier energy performance and comfort in the built environment. His past project work includes: training energy advisors, energy modelling, field assessments, building code compliance, incentive programs, and project management on existing and new homes, commercial and institutional buildings. He is a graduate in engineering from the University of Guelph, and has qualifications that include: Registered Energy Advisor (ERS,Energy Star and MURBS), Quality Assurance Specialist, CHBA NetZero Qualified EA, LEED for Homes Green Rater, and Certified Engineering Technician.